top of page

Working Out in September 2022


Before I start talking about working out this month, I want to talk about this month in general. Holy Shit... what a month. We started the very first weekend (labor day weekend) celebrating my daughter's first birthday. It was such a fun birthday party. It was Dr. Seuss themed. I went all out. I didn't have a baby shower or sprinkle during both my pregnancies, so their first birthday was my way making up for that and going ALL OUT!! I love spoiling my girls on their birthday. They may not remember it, but I sure will.


A few days after my daughter's first birthday party, she started feeling sick. Running a high fever, wanting to sleep all the time, very congested, and a cough. The day after, my husband tested positive for COVID. Later that evening, I tested positive for COVID. My entire house had COVID and we were planning to leave for vacation a couple days later. The timing was not on our side. We still went on vacation, but quarantined where we stayed. Of course my worse day was the day of traveling, but at least everyone else was starting to feel better. My two year old only had a runny nose. Thank goodness. My one year old had it the worse. But we got through it.


So then the week after COVID, we were on vacation. It was such a special vacation. I wrote about it last week when I talked about what vacation to me means now that I am a SAHM. It is time with my husband and time the girls get with their daddy that we don't get. Even though I was sick the first few days of the trip, it was still a very memorable week and I can't wait for our vacation next year.


The rest of September was a blur. Lots of cleaning, chores, birthday celebrations, new nephew being born, etc. It was a blur in a good way. SO MANY things to celebrate this month.


So now for working out. You guys, I was absolutely horrible with working out this month. A month ago, my goal was to start LIIFT4 again and I am so sad to report that that did not happen. UGH. I am so frustrated with myself. I don't want to put pressure on myself to start the program again, and honestly I don't have any excuses why I didn't. I just didn't feel like it. I like to workout in the evening after the girls have gone down and that didn't happen this month. By the time the evening came around, I wanted to clean, sit, relax, and go to bed earlier. My one year old has been getting up early, and in the middle of the night that I've been trying to go to bed earlier because I know I'm getting up earlier. I want to set a plan for October, but I just don't know what the month is going to bring. Like how the heck was I supposed to know that I was going to be sick with COVID and have to also take care of my entire family? But for myself, I will do better.


I did walk a lot this month. We did many walks during our vacation week and now that it is cooler out, I have been walking my girls more in the morning or when my husband is home from work. So at least I did some sort of exercise. That's it though. I want to do LIIFT4, I just feel so overwhelmed, overstimulated and overtired in the evening, that my motivation is 0%. I didn't even weigh or measure myself today like I do at the end of every month. There's no point.


So, here's what I think I am going to try and do. My one year old naps after lunch. My two year old has wind down time with her tablet during that time. I think that will be my new workout time. I am going to try that this next week to see if that works for me. I am going to focus one week at a time. I am also going to shoot for two to three days, not four. If I do four, great, but trying to not put too much pressure on myself. I will continue to walk. Another change I am going to make is wake up slightly earlier. Only because, when my one year old naps, that is my time that I like to do some cleaning or a chore or some slow down time while my two year old is distracted. If I wake up slightly earlier, I can do some of those things before both girls wake up and that may open up more time during "naptime" to do my workout. What do you think? Do you think that's a good idea?


Wish me luck!! I will hopefully come back at the end of October with some good/motivating news!!! If you have any tips and tricks of how you keep yourself motivated, especially during season changes and weeks that have been exhausting, I'd love to know what you do!


Thank you so much for reading!


Susana



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page