top of page

Trip to Starbucks


Starbucks is about 10 minutes away from my house. It is so convenient. For those that know me, you know that I have an obsession with Starbucks. It just makes my heart happy. In the past, I would stop at Starbucks on the way to work, or pick up on my way home. I could enjoy my coffee in peace. It is very different now with two little toddlers. If I want Starbucks, they usually have to go with me. They are too young to go inside and know not to make too much noise and disrupt others. So I always go through the drive thru. Luckily, my girls are pretty good in the car. Recently, I took my girls to Starbucks. It is quite the story that I wanted to share with you. It was not the typical trip to Starbucks.


It was a Friday. The girls were having a rough morning. And rough as in CRYING ALL MORNING. It was a long morning, I was counting down the minutes to rest/nap time. Anyways, usually when we have a rough morning, I almost always use that as an excuse to go to Starbucks. So after rest/nap time, off to Starbucks we went. They were pretty good on the car ride over, until we hit the schools right across from the Starbucks. Apparently, the schools were at dismissal time. Since I was on the school road, I was at a complete stop. There was a long line of cars either waiting to get by or waiting to pick up. We all had to wait for the buses to pick up all the kids and leave, so it did not matter where we had to go. We were stuck. Of course if I knew this, I would have gone another way. But didn't think about it at the time. We waited for about 15 minutes. All of a sudden, a fly starts flying around me, landing on my hand and my glasses. I swat it away. It kept coming back. My two year old asks "what's wrong mommy?", I told her there was a fly in the car and it wouldn't leave me alone. She looked at me scared. At this point, we are still waiting in the long dismissal traffic. My two year old starts to scream, like terrified for her life scream. That stupid fly landed right on her carseat belt. She was completely terrified. I tried to reach back to swat away the fly as well as calm her down. We were still stuck in traffic. I thought I got rid of the fly until she started to scream again and this time with full on tears and her face was blood shot red. I think what made it worse was the fact that she was in a carseat and couldn't run away. My one year old was super chill, just staring at her sister. This went on for a little over 5 minutes while we were still stuck in traffic. I kept trying to reach back to get rid of that stupid fly. I never wanted Starbucks more. That fly finally came to the front and I swatted it with a boot that I quickly grabbed from a basket behind me. I think I killed it because it no longer bothered us. I had to rub my daughters leg to calm her down. Talk to her through the fear she was feeling. I've never seen her eyes go so wide in fear. She finally calmed down, but it took time.


We finally start moving again and I get to Starbucks, order my drink, get the girls a cake pop, and a sandwich because why not. I parked in the parking lot, got out of the car to give each girl their cake pop, and for a very brief 5ish minutes, the car was silent. It was the best part of my day. I drank my coffee in peace. I can't even begin to explain how much solo car rides I took for granted before becoming a mom and even when I was working. I rarely get solo car rides now and when I get peace with kids in the car, it's even better. Especially, with my favorite cup of coffee. The girls did get pretty messy from their cake pop, but I didn't care. They were so happy. I wiped them clean and then we were on our way home.


I can honestly picture us going to get coffee together when they are older. I don't want to wish this time away now that they are this little but I do look forward to the day that we can do more together.


From this trip, I learned the time to not go to Starbucks when it's during the school day, that my toddler is VERY afraid of flies, and cake pops come with 5 minutes of complete silence.


I hope you enjoyed reading this as much as I enjoyed my cup of coffee!


Susana

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page