top of page

Raising a Writer

As a former teacher, Reading and Math skills was and still is the most focused in school. Writing, social studies and science unfortunately was not approached the same way. As teachers, we were required to integrate all standards, but Reading and Math were definitely the focus. However, teaching Writing was my favorite.


Growing up, I always relied on writing. It was in some cases the only way I was able to express myself. I had a journal. I loved writing in my journal before bed. When a school assignment required me to write creatively, I thrived. I also really enjoyed writing poetry. I had a poem book. I would write about literally everything. It brought me so much joy. That is a big reason why I started blogging. I just love it. Anyways, as I parent, I tried to encourage writing with my girls. My 18 month old is not interested yet but my almost 3 year old has been showing interest for a while now. Maybe around the time she turned two, she started to be fascinated with journals and drawing lines along the lines in the journal. She would have so much focus on where she was drawing the line. She also always wanted to draw her very precise lines with a pen. I honestly think it was because she saw me write a lot. I am a big list person. I am always writing on notepads with a pen. So maybe she saw me and wanted to do the same. Shortly after she turned 2.5 years old, she would sit with a notebook while nighttime TV was playing and she would "write" in her notebook. It was so cool to watch. She loved it.


A couple months ago, I decided to buy her her own special notebook and keep it in her room. Along with the notebook, we gave her special gel pens that would write in different colors. We gifted this to her for Valentine's Day. She immediately started "writing" in the journal when she opened her Valentine's Day gift! She could sit there forever writing in her journal.


A few weeks ago, we moved a step forward with the journal. Right before bed and after reading a book or two, I or my husband writes a sentence about the day and she then takes a couple minutes and "writes" under that sentence. It has been such a fun routine. I don't know exactly how it started but I think randomly I asked her if she wanted to write in her journal before bed. And now it is a part of her bedtime routine. It is so sweet to watch her. She is tucked in her bed and quietly "writes" in her journal. It is not only practice to write but encouraging it as a hobby or self expression. It also allows us as parents to talk to her about her day and reflect on the good that happened in the day. It may be one of my favorite things we do together now. I see a little bit of myself in her when she does it too and it brings so much joy to my heart.


I am very excited to watch this interest of hers grow. We may eventually do the same with my 2nd if she wants to, but won't force it. With my 1st, it was not forcing. We watched how she developed the skill and chose to do it herself then provided the items, time and space to be able to thrive and grow with it. It's one of those things that when I sit back and watch her do her thing, I am in awe of who she is becoming.


If you are a parent or love to write, what do you do to encourage it with your kids or what have you done yourself to enjoy it?




Thank you so much for reading!

Susana



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page