top of page

No Screen Time

I did something crazy this week, I limited the toys available to play and I took away all the screens. My girls behaviors recently have been very difficult to deal with as a parent, especially when I’m parenting solo.


I had a really hard day with them, like one of the hardest days I’ve ever had with them. I wanted to cry, I felt like I was failing them. But then I got frustrated. Frustrated in myself that I haven’t taken action. I know they aren’t bad kids, but what they were doing was testing our boundaries and seeing what they could get away with. They were getting extremely comfortable with refusing to listen especially when it came to cleaning up their toys.


They were acting like spoiled brats.


So I made a change.


I decided no IPads or TV until further notice AND I will store away most toys and leave out a small portion on a shelf in our main area. They could obviously earn it back and small amounts at a time, but I wasn’t going to budge until I started to notice a change in their behavior.


I used this as an opportunity to teach them how to pick up after themselves. And the positive feeling to gain when things are cleaned up. Since there weren’t as many toys, it was less overwhelming.


I will admit though, the no screen time was hard. I enjoy watching a cute movie with my girls and I absolutely love Bluey first thing in the morning. But we did it. Sometimes I only use screens when I need a break, but it definitely isn’t necessary. This is only the first week doing it, so who knows. Maybe I’ll cave. I do plan to stick with it though because I’m determined.


Update: it is a little over a month later and we are doing great with the change. They earned screens back, but not as much as what they had before. The toys are still all over the place, but they have a spot. We took some toys out of the storage but put them right back when done. They are doing better with cleaning up after themselves. Especially in the evening right after bath. We haven’t had a day like that hard day over a month ago. They’ve been doing much better. It isn’t perfect, but for the most part it worked.


I will admit, the no screens was HARD. For all of us. But it seemed after each passing day with no screens, it got easier. I used to give my daughter the tablet while I work for a couple hours during my two year old’s nap. I don’t do that anymore. It’s no longer expected by her and I don’t depend on it either. A much healthier relationship the screens.


I am curious if you’ve ever had a situation that you needed to take away toys and screens to help with your children’s behavior. How did it work out for you? I’d love to chat about it!


Thank you so much for reading!

Susana

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page