top of page

Work from Home Mom

I've gone from being a working mom as a teacher, to a stay at home mom, and now a work from home mom. All within 3 years. The past month embarking on a new journey as a work from home mom has been quite the learning experience. I'd like to share what I have learned with you and the differences between all three experiences as a mom.


Working mom:

This was when I first became a mom and life was insane because not only was I learning about what parenthood entailed, I was also teaching when we were still in a pandemic. I did virtual and face to face teaching. I also was moving and lived with my in-laws for a few months. It was a very busy and crazy time. I enjoyed every second of motherhood though. I had the entire summer with my new born before having to go back to school. A good 3.5 months with my baby. It was a dream. That was when I realized that I would love to be a stay at home mom. It wasn't an option for that year. We were unable to afford that kind of financial change.


I struggled with guilt though. I felt so guilty leaving my baby every morning. I wanted to be with her, I didn't want to go to work. It didn't feel right. I dreaded it every single day. I missed her so much. I think that affected the kind of teacher I was too. I was distracted. I struggled staying focused, I struggled loving my job. That year was hard enough as it was being the many changes we had to face with our students. There was no consistency that school year. I knew I didn't want to teach anymore. Luckily, a few months into the school year, my husband got a new job and everything changed for us. I was finally able to be a SAHM. I finished out that school year and went on parental leave. It was a dream come true. I was also pregnant at that time, so knowing I was having two under two, I mentally struggled with that and had no room to even think about a job. Staying home was the best decision I ever made for myself and for my family.


SAHM:

I had this vision of what a SAHM was going to be like. Like I had more time to clean, more time to participate in my own hobbies, more time to sleep. Man was I wrong. Especially with having two under two, my days were the complete opposite. I was nothing else but just mom. I felt like I lost a lot of my teacher friends, felt so distant from everyone because I was at home just trying to survive. That first year after my second was born was one of the hardest years of my life. I struggled mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually. I was unable to connect with others, and I completely lost myself. I don't know if that would've happened if I were still working as a teacher during that time. But what I do know is that being a SAHM is no walk in the park.


How can something I dreamed of, be a complete nightmare? I felt guilty for resenting my husband. I struggled to enjoy motherhood. I went through major changes that year, leaving a job, new routines, and a new baby all within a short amount of time. And majority of the time, I was alone. It was a challenge but I got through it. I came out stronger because of it. I realized how I needed to be for my children and also realized I was not okay mentally and needed to make a change. I realized I needed to make time for myself and work on myself to be the best mother my girls deserved.


I think the picture of what a SAHM is is very judged and misunderstood. You really don't know how difficult it is until you do it. And I mean do it for at least an entire year to really learn about what it entails. It's a tough job.


After that first year though, everything changed. When I started working on myself, noticing more of how I was feeling and figuring out what worked best for my little family, I started to enjoy and appreciate the SAHM experience with my girls. There's zero regret for leaving a job to focus on being just mom. I honestly felt like I would never miss a thing and that brought so much joy and happiness to my life. Yes, after a year, I still felt very lonely and isolated but at that point I was used to it. It was a part of my routine that I didn't think anything of it. Eventually, I started reaching out to people to plan visits and play dates. It took me time to get to that point though that I felt comfortable enough to do it by myself. Every time got easier and easier.


Work from home mom:

As a SAHM, I had a pretty good and predictable routine. Now that my girls are 2 and 3, I am able to figure out what part of my day am I able to sit down and work. My 2 year olds nap time is the perfect window. That's two good hours. She sleeps so well too so it's never an issue to put her down. My 3 year old does not nap. This is when a tablet comes in handy. She plays and also watches something on her tablet while I work. I am only a part-time worker though, and it's only ten hours a week, but it did change things for me. I have to make sure I eat a good lunch when my girls are eating. I work better when I have a good lunch. I also have to make sure that the dinner I have planned is easy to make on days we work. Crock pot meals for the win! I also needed a designated area. I have a desk and a spot that is known to be my work spot. The girls will always know where I am when I'm working. The hardest part is when I have a meeting. I need complete silence and away from distractions. Sometimes the meetings take place when my husband is home, sometimes it takes place when he is not home. I just have to be flexible. The balance was and still is hard. I do feel bad that during my two year olds nap time, I'm not giving my 3 year old as much attention as I used to. That used to be our one on one time together. She is obviously understanding and hangs out in the same room with me, but I do often feel guilty about. I don't think it bothers her one bit, I think it bothers me more than it bothers her.


Out of all 3 experiences, I think I enjoy being a work from home mom the most. Its still very new and it's only part-time but I enjoy the balance of being able to work but also being around my girls. Transitioning from a working mom to SAHM was way harder for me to adjust to then going from a SAHM to a WFHM. Overall, I thoroughly enjoy it.


What are you? Are you a SAHM, Working mom or WFHM? Have you transitioned from one to another? Share your experiences! I'd love to chat about it!


Thanks so much for reading,

Susana

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page