top of page

Mom Win #3

I absolutely love writing these posts. We need to take more time to celebrate the little things. So here I am celebrating the little things as a mom.


My Husband's "Mom Win":

I asked my husband a mom win that he's noticed recently or is worth celebrating. He brought up the weekend I went to Orlando, FL without my two little girls and had a weekend to myself. I honestly thought this was interesting why he thought this weekend was considered a "Mom Win" in his opinion, so I asked him to explain further. He said it was a mom win because I was able to leave my SAHM life and made sure I had a weekend for myself.


I felt so fortunate to have had that weekend and I did think of it as a blessing because I have never taken a weekend like that since I became a mom. But I definitely did not think of it as a "Mom Win". There were times before the weekend, that I felt guilty for planning a trip to leave. I felt guilty leaving my girls. I felt guilty leaving my husband with the girls and he had to do everything himself. I felt guilty I wasn't cleaning or preparing food. During the weekend, I did not feel as guilty because my husband usually reported back with positive things so it made me feel better. Plus I was so busy, I didn't have time to really dwell on the fact that I left my girls. When I returned, it was such a sweet reunion. I missed my girls, but I felt so happy to have had the time for myself. Through all that guilt before the trip, I still left and made sure to have a good time for myself. So after thinking about it, YES I would agree with my husband! That weekend I did for myself is definitely a "Mom Win"!


My "Mom Win":

If you know the layout of my house, we have three floors. The TV and main play area is in our basement. I like to take the girls down to the basement after Breakfast time, about mid morning and we hang out down there before Lunch. Then lunch time we go back to our main floor. Stairs and little ones are a scary thing. It usually takes forever to go up and down. My second born can't even walk the stairs yet, so I have to hold her. My first born is good with the stairs but she still has to hold on to my hand, the railing, or the wall to walk her down. She has a lot more control going up.


So there was a day not too long ago, that I get the girls ready to go downstairs to play in our playroom. I'm holding my second born in one arm and she's holding her milk. I am holding my first born's hand. We start walking down the stairs. My second born decides to let go of her cup, without thinking about the fact that we were on the stairs, I let go of my first born's hand to catch the cup. I caught the cup, however, my first born lost her balance and fell forward. It all happened so fast. I instinctually caught her with my leg. It helped slow down her fall and she was able to catch herself with her hands. I then slowly lifted her with my leg until I was able to grab her shirt with my hand. Have you ever had a little one fall down the stairs? The situation could have been way worse than the way it turned out. It all could have been avoided if I didn't try to catch that stupid milk cup. My "Mom Win" was the instant catch with my leg. Staying calm when she was stuck after she fell forward, and pulling her back to standing with just my leg. I have to say, my heart was beating so fast after that, and I no longer bring milk cups with me down the stairs. I come back up after I get the girls settled and grab it quickly. Definitely a lesson learned.


Have you ever experienced anything like this? Catching your child in a fall? If you have, I'm sure you understand how fast it can happen and how scary it can be. That is the only time we have had a "fall" down the stairs and thank goodness it was not as bad. Share you stories with me, I'd love to hear it!


Thanks so much for reading!!!

Susana

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page