top of page

Mom Win #2

Life has been way more "complex" lately according to my husband. Our home life is not all calm and happy as some pictures I post on social media may make it seem. It has been incredibly overwhelming and chaotic. I say this, because with all the chaos and mess, I still manage to look at the positives and turn what is messy to acceptance and appreciation for the messy but beautiful life I am currently living. I will share my husband's "Mom Win" and my "Mom Win" in this post! We need to take a step back and celebrate what we are proud of!


My Mom Win:


About two weeks ago, I went on a vacation with my little family. I talked about it in last weeks post. It was such a special time because we had time with my husband that we don't normally get. It was the happiest I've seen him in a long time. Although it ended up being a great trip, there were some kinks in the road. A few days prior to leaving, my one year old got really sick, the next day my husband tested positive for COVID feeling like poop, and my two year thankfully only had a runny nose. I luckily didn't feel like crap yet, but tested positive for COVID the day after my husband did. This was Wednesday and we were still planning to leave for our trip on Friday. It changed our plans though for the weekend. We weren't able to do much, we did a lot of outside activities and cooked at the house we stayed at. We quarantined, just in another house. I woke up Thursday feeling like shit. I took some Advil, drank a crap ton of water, and survived the day. I had to, because during the time I felt sick, I had to take care of my husband, take care of my girls (all who were also sick), pack all my things, the girls things, pack the sleeping needs, toiletries, Groceries, cleaned the entire house to kill COVID off as many surfaces as possible, steam clean the carpet, and complete other last minute tasks all in one day so we can be prepared to leave the next morning. And you guys, I somehow did it. I have no idea how. But I did. By the end of the day, I felt so sick but also so accomplished. That is a mom win for sure! Even sick with COVID, us moms get shit done.


I would also like to add that not only did we feel sick with COVID during the start of our vacation (my worst day was on that Friday we traveled), but my two year old had LICE that we found in the middle of the week of our vacation. I spent the entire morning on one of our days there, treating her hair. She had so much that she must of had it for a while and we had no idea. How on earth does a little girl that stays home all day every day, only sees her cousins maybe once a month, get lice. I still can't believe that was even a thing. But hey, treated it and done. And in spite of all of that, my husband and I still tried to enjoy our trip with our girls and make the most of it. We could've just sulked and complained, but we didn't. We appreciated the time we had together, and made memories, even with COVID and Lice.


Husband's Mom Win:


Going back to what I said in the beginning when I said that according to my husband, life has been more "complex" lately...let me explain. We have a just turned one year old, and a two year old. They're 16 months apart and neither can talk or really tell us exactly what they need. Especially, our one year old. Our two year old is learning, but it takes time to understand exactly what she's trying to say. My husband says my mom win should be how I consistently handle two very emotional toddlers and a Great Dane during this time of our life with our two littles and dog because for some reason everything just seems way more chaotic lately. Our one year old is teething (she has three teeth coming in right now), so she is literally crying all day. Yesterday was so bad, she was running a slight fever. Sometimes Motrin just isn't enough. My toddler has been in a better mood recently (THANK GOD), she's actually growing into this really silly personality which I love that I get to see all day every day. However, she has needs too. And struggles to communicate those needs. She has a specific language. It has taken time to understand her language. Most people look at me like "what is she saying?" and I'm like, "Oh, that's yogurt". Anyways, she is constantly asking for things, and while I'm trying to calm down a very cranky baby, I'm trying to understand my toddler to meet her needs. Then there's our Great Dane.... He's a whole other level of neediness. I mentioned this in one of my very first mom posts, but having a Great Dane with two very little children, who wants all the attention is hard. He doesn't act out, but he also doesn't know when to listen. He is ALWAYS licking food from my toddlers plates. I feel like I am always annoyed with him. Now that it is cooler out, he's outside longer, and that helps all of us. I just never thought how difficult it would be being home by myself with two littles and a large dog. There was a day we put Bruce (that's our Great Dane's name) in the kennel because we had a birthday party the next day. We didn't want him around at the party because he's a little much when there's a lot of people. That evening was so peaceful. My husband even said it seemed a lot calmer with Bruce not around. Our dog adds to the chaos. I feel bad saying that, but it's true.


There will be a day that I will miss this chaos. I will miss the snuggles because my baby only wants me when she's not feeling well. I will miss watching my toddler's favorite TV show as I am picking out LICE out of her hair. I will miss the toys being all over the place because my girls had fun playing. I will miss my dog's bark. I have to constantly remind myself that this life now is not permanent. In many ways, that can be good, but in other ways is also sad. Change can be bittersweet. Sometimes in the evening after my husband goes to sleep, all I need is a good cry, my favorite TV show, everything cleaned up and I am ready to attack the next day. Even through all the chaos, I am so incredibly blessed. I am fortunate I get to stay home with my girls, appreciating this life I am living. It may be misunderstood by some but is the highlight of my life to me.


Once again, thank you for reading! Let me hear about your mom wins! I want to celebrate what we do as moms together!


Love Always,

Susana


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page