top of page

Homeschool Work From Home Mom

The last couple weeks have been a huge change for our family. My 4 year old daughter did not get into Pre-K. Where we live, it is not a requirement so they have limited spots. When we applied, my daughter was waitlisted. This was at our local public school. She was also waitlisted at another Learning Center that we toured. And then another one we looked at was WAY TOO EXPENSIVE. So my husband and I had to decide what to do. I work part-time from home and also have my 3 year old home with me too. We found out a week before the start of the new school year in my area that my daughter did not get in. So naturally, we were scrambling and trying to figure out what to do. At the back of our minds, we always had homeschool as an option. As a former Elementary School Teacher and already being home, it was a possible option. That is what we chose to do.


When I was a stay at home mom, my days consisted of play, naps, feeding, and giving myself a break once in a while. It was busy and but I was with my girls and that mattered to me more than working. I was fortunate to be able to do this.


When we moved to a new town and my girls were 3 and 2, I was able to find a part-time job that allowed me to work for a non-profit that I am very passionate about. I work 3 days a week a few hours each day. I planned it to work for them during my two year olds nap time. I occasionally go into the office but only a handful times in a year.


Now that I’m homeschooling, I have to balance my 3 year old, school for my 4 year old, house responsibilities, and work (which on some days I have virtual meetings). I also have hobbies such as my fashion page, LTK shop, and Amazon Storefront, this blog that I try to throw in the mix too. My days are busy, but I wouldn’t trade it for anything because I am doing everything I love. I get an extra year with my 4 year old. My 3 year old gets an extra year with her sister. It’s special. I also know that even if it’s hard, these days will fly by and when she goes to Kindergarten next year, I’m going to miss this. So I’m trying my best to stay positive in the situation and make the most of it.


On a typical work from home/homeschool day (Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays) this is what my day looks like.


6:00am- I wake up if I can. I try. I have been slacking with this lately and may wake around 6:50. But 6am is my goal. I would like to do earlier, but I’m easing into that.


7:00-Wake up girls. We eat breakfast, get dressed, play a bit, maybe take a quick walk, anything that we feel like doing before we start “school”.


8:30- School starts. We do activities, learn through play, build with toys, color, dance, read alouds, number practice, etc. this is all within an hour and a half. It’s fun and I follow a specific “school schedule” to give them as much as they can during that time. I’ve created things too to help with writing their name and practice their letters. It gives me the opportunity to do what I love, create things through Canva.


10:00- Play. Whether it is outside or we go for a walk and bring books with us or we go to the park or if it’s raining indoor play, this time is designated to some sort of physical activity. Kinda like recess but with what we have and for a whole hour.


11:00- Lunch. This gives the girls the opportunities to eat out of a lunch box. They get a good 30 minutes to eat their lunch and get the lunch box experience. And also practice that in the lunchroom in public schools, they only give you a specific amount of time to do at and the goal is to eat as much as you can during that time.


11:30-11:50- Wind down, I put on a show and get my 3 year old ready for nap.


12:00- I work. I have either a one on one meeting or a team meeting at this time. Then after the meeting I work till about 3:30-4. My 3 year old naps till 2, and my 4 year old will either rest or play independently. I do what I can during this time and do my best to balance it all. It typically works out well but on some days, it’s hard to balance or I feel overwhelmed. I always find a way to be okay though through the crazy.


4:30-5- Make dinner. I preplan all meals to help with this. I have a calendar and write in meals for the whole month. Helps with organizing and helps with management and I always know what to make.


5-7- we eat dinner, clean up, girls get their bath, we wind down with a movie together, read books, brush their teeth, do our nighttime routine and the girls are in bed by 7pm.



Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays are insane. Luckily I don’t work on Tuesdays and Thursdays so I get a little breather. Even through the chaos and the tight schedule, I am still very grateful that this is my life. I get to do everything I love in one day. I get to work for a non-profit I’m passionate about with a very kind and caring team who are just as passionate about the program. I get all day every day with my girls. I am able to be home where I feel most like myself and the safest, I live in a town that offers so many cool things and brings me peace, I have a husband who works from home twice a week so we get to see each other and I get a little extra help when he can, I have it pretty good. I even get to bring back some of my teacher skills when being “teacher mommy” for my 4 year old. Homeschool is actually a lot of fun! And I am in full control which is awesome!


I think we as humans often like to find the negatives in our life and dwell on it instead of focusing more on the positives. I am choosing to stay positive through the chaos of this life because even if the school situation didn’t work out the way we wanted it to and I had to add a little more to my plate, I get another year with my 4 year old, and that is pretty special. Not a lot of parents get that with their child and I feel very blessed that I do. Being their mom is my favorite thing in the entire world, and having that extra time especially when it wasn’t originally planned that way brings me joy.



If you made it this far, thank you so much for reading! What is your take on homeschool? Have you ever been put in a situation that you had to make last minute changes but am trying to focus on the positives over the negatives? Let me know your thoughts, I’d love to chat about it!


As always thank you for your support!

Susana

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page