top of page

How to Make a Diaper Cake

I have made a few diaper cakes before, and I feel like every time I do one, I get better and better at making it. I want to share my "wisdom" with you because a diaper cake in my opinion is one of the best gifts you can give a mother to be or bring to a baby shower or a baby sprinkle. It is creative, thoughtful, includes diapers and full of surprises! I went to a baby sprinkle over the weekend. So naturally, I decided to make a diaper cake! It was the centerpiece at one of the tables, so it was perfect. What I usually like to do is go by the gender of the baby. So girls are typically pink or purple, and boys are blue. However, if the parents are going with a certain theme or color scheme, I follow that. The parents of the baby sprinkle I went to went with a woodsy theme. So dark greens, cream and gold. They also wanted the main animal to be a "wolf", which I definitely figured out a way to use on the cake. Here is how you make a diaper cake.


Get all your supplies:

  • Diapers. For a three layered cake, I used a total of 62 diapers. You can definitely make a cake smaller than that, you do not have to use that many diapers. I just found a 3 layered cake covers what I like to put in the middle which helps hold the diapers together in the shape of a cake. I chose to use size 2 diapers. I think size 1 or 2 would make the most sense or maybe 3. I would not recommend newborn. Babies do not stay in newborn diapers for very long.

  • Ribbon (colors are up to you. I like to do 3 different ribbons, either color or pattern. But using the same ribbon for the entire cake is fine too).

  • Rubber bands (a crap ton)

  • super glue or hot glue

  • wine bottle or paper towel roll

  • candy (optional)

  • Any other decor you want to add. I ordered a small stuffed animal for the very top of the cake. Flowers, plants, letters, leaves, garland, just have fun with it!

  • Large serving platter. I ordered mine from Walmart, received it in my grocery delivery. It was maybe $2. The Dollar store has cheap ones, Michaels has sturdy ones, just a little more expensive. I usually add a pizza pan underneath the serving platter so it's sturdy to carry but remove when I place the diaper cake on the table at the party.


Directions:


1. Roll the Diapers. I like to prepare this ahead. I usually just roll a whole bunch without counting and roll more when I need to. Like I said before, for a 3 tier diaper cake, you will use about 62 diapers. The part where the diaper opens up, start with that side and roll. Roll as tight as you can. Secure with a rubber band.


2. Place your center of the cake in the middle of the serving pan. I like to use a wine bottle, so it is an extra surprise for mom and dad. Find out what their favorite wine is, and place that in the middle. If you don't want to do wine, a paper towel roll is a good alternative.

3. Start the bottom tier. Put a rubber band around the bottle and start putting rolled up diapers between the rubber band and wine bottle. That way the rubber band is already securing the diapers, and you don't have to try and hold all the diapers around the bottle at once. Once the first row is done around the bottle, add another rubber band over that and add another row. Keep doing the same process until you have completed three rows. This diaper cake used 35 diapers for this layer.


4. Now time to work on the middle tier. You will do the exact same thing as the bottom tier but with two rows instead of three. I used about 21 diapers for this layer.

5. Finally, the top tier. Same thing as the last two, but with only one row. I used about 6 diapers for this layer.

6. Now time to add the ribbon. I use super glue to secure the ribbon, but have also used hot glue. You don't need much. I chose 3 different colors. A dark green, a pale green, and a cream. I placed the dark green on the bottom tier, wrapping it around the cake so it covers the rubber band. If you still see the rubber band, wrap it twice. Secure where you cut the ribbon with glue. Put pressure on it until it dries. Doing it this way, the ribbon should stay. Do the same thing for the middle and top tier. The part where you cut and then glue the ribbon should be about the same spot for each layer. That would be the "back of the cake".


7. Finally, add your decor. I like to add mom or dad's favorite candy. The recent one I did had twix added to it. I just added it around the cake. Then top with whatever topper you like. I've seen flowers as toppers, but I chose to get a smaller size wolf from Amazon and place that on top. It was the perfect fit and super cute!


That's it! The most time consuming part was rolling the diapers. But I enjoy doing something that repeats motion like that (I'm a big fan of folding towels). I hope you like it! It was a big hit at the baby sprinkle and it is toddler approved!! I saved the extra size 2 diapers, and gave it to the couple having the baby. Who doesn't need extra diapers? Thanks so much for reading!


~Susana




11 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page