top of page

Childhood Story: The Dogs Are Locked In!

It was Thanksgiving Day. I don't know what year it was, but I was around 13 years old I think. Thanksgiving has always been at my grandparents house, but this year for some reason, it was at my parents house. Anyways, a family a few houses down the street asked me to dog sit. The family asked me to go over a couple times a day for a few days to take them out, give them time to run around the yard, and fill their bowls with food and water. Pretty simple. They gave me a house key so I could go through the back door, to get to the dogs.


It was right before family was coming over for Thanksgiving dinner and I walked over to take care of the dogs. I walk in the house, take the dogs out, and sit on their back porch, watching the dogs run around. After about 15 minutes, I brought the dogs back inside the house, filled their bowls with food and water, and closed the door to go back to Thanksgiving dinner. As soon as I closed the door, I realized I left the house key inside. The door was locked. Yes, thankfully I already took care of the dogs and put them back inside the house. I still needed the key so I could continue going back to take care of the dogs. I instantly started to panic. I looked around the entire back porch for places a spare key could be, tools that may be helpful or anything that could fit through the key hole. Anything. I tired everything. I even found a wire that fit through the keyhole, but no luck. I was so terrified to go back home. Terrified to tell my parents that I locked the key inside the neighbors house. I started to cry because I had no idea what to do. But I wiped away my tears, walked back home, and told my mom what had happened. She asked my older brother to help. It is possible my mom went over to help too, but I can't remember that exact detail. My older brother is a big part of this story.


My brother and I walked back to the neighbors house. He tried unlocking the door. He also looked for different tools on the back porch and did everything he could. He saw how upset I was, he saw that I had been crying. He stayed very calm for me which I appreciated, because I was an emotional wreck. I did not know how I was going to tell the neighbors that I was unable to take care of their dogs for two days. I felt so guilty. It was a lot for a 13 year old girl to feel in a short amount of time. I always put a lot of pressure on myself (still do), so when I did not meet my own expectations of myself, I would feel as if I failed. And that was the worst feeling, especially at 13. My brother kept trying, I kept trying. There was a point I was shaking the doorknob, begging for it to just open. It was about 15-20 minutes of doing everything we could. I told my brother, let's just open it one more time and then go home and I will talk to mom about what I should do next. So I went to just simply twist the doorknob, no tool, just a twist, and the door opened. I was in shock. My brother looked at me in shock. I have no idea how it unlocked. But it did. I remember the relief I felt but unable to explain how it happened.


My brother went home. I stayed to write a note of what had happened to my neighbors, and then grabbed the key and went back home too. No surprise, I was never asked to take care of the dogs again (haha). I debated writing a note to them or not, but I think I did end up writing it for myself. I felt as if I needed to be honest even though the situation all worked out in the end. It could've been completely different.


I think back to that Thanksgiving frequently. I always make sure there are double keys, just incase something like that happens again. There will always be a spare key.


Has anything liked this every happened to you? A problem that solved on it's own that you cannot explain how it was solved? It was very strange for sure.


Thank you so much for reading!

Susana

9 views0 comments

Comentarios

No se pudieron cargar los comentarios
Parece que hubo un problema técnico. Intenta volver a conectarte o actualiza la página.
bottom of page