top of page

Chicken Sisters by KJ Dell'Antonia



Hi All!!! I am very excited to share this book with you. It was gifted to me for Christmas in 2020 and I'm just now finishing it! I am the slowest reader but eventually get my books read. Which is why I will only be writing about a book once a month. That way I can give myself a month to read it. Anyways, let's talk about Chicken Sisters by KJ Dell'Antonia. I will write about it without giving any spoilers. I promise. So I'll make it short and sweet for you.


I really enjoyed this book. It is a book about family and family rivalry. To sum it up, there's been a rivalry between two family businesses. Both known for their fried chicken. Two sisters are divided between the businesses. Having a large family and sisters myself, I understand that sometimes family doesn't get along and there can be misunderstandings and feuds. That is EXACTLY what this book is about. It is a story of a feud going on for 3 generations.


In modern day time, the two fried chicken businesses get themselves wrapped up in a tv competition show. Family that have not talked for a while, start talking again. It's a reunion but not the best kind of reunion. The competition show is being used to promote the businesses but as you can predict, the"competition" show brings out some secrets too. One BIG secret that is revealed towards the end of the book.


Instead of chapters, each "chapter" is one of the sisters (Amanda or Mae) and their perspective. I love when books are in different perspectives. I feel like you are really in the heads of the characters, or in this case the 3rd generation sisters of the feud. The characters have their own set of problems. Those problems are brought to the "competition". You really get a good grasp on the personality of each character too.


If you plan to go on vacation anytime soon, or a day at the beach, or you like sitting outside with a good book, this is the perfect read for that. It is light and fun. In my opinion, it is a very predictable story. However, I like predictable stories when I am lounging on my deck during the girls nap time. I get maybe an hour a day to relax and I do not want to relax with a book that is going to make me think too hard. I'd rather have a book that is light and fun and super relaxing to read. The best way to describe this book: It is a Hallmark movie in writing.


My Review of this book: 4 out of 5


A few things about Chicken Sisters:

  • It is sold on Amazon as paperback or available for the Kindle.

  • Less than $10.

  • It is a part of Reese Witherspoon's Book Club

  • 341 pages

  • Originally published July 28, 2020

  • Written in two characters' perspective


If you decide to buy this book and read it this summer or have already read it, let me know what you think. I'd like to talk more about it with others who have read it.


As always, thank you for your love and support!


Happy Reading!




~Susana


2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page